GDSN: success with standardised data

The GS1 Global Data Synchronisation Network (GDSN) is the world's largest network to exchange product master data. GDSN enables any company, in any market, to seamlessly exchange high-quality product master data. Because companies of all sizes need the same - up-to-date and reliable product master data - that ultimately benefits your customers and patients.

Increasing product diversity, online trade/e-commerce and regulatory requirements are constantly increasing the demands on product data management. With GDSN, high-quality product master data is automatically provided, validated and exchanged to ensure that trading partners are immediately supplied with the most up-to-date information required for the movement of goods in local and global markets.

The GDSN connects around 50 certified data pools worldwide with over 64,000 participating companies. A total of over 37 million GTINs (Global Trade Item Number) are registered. Product information (master data and digital asset information such as images, certificates, declarations of conformity, safety data sheets and much more) is exchanged on the basis of GS1 standards. In doing so, a company needs to provide the information to only one data pool in order to make it available locally and worldwide to all desired market participants in real time (push procedure). Changes and updates are also synchronised automatically. 

All data pools speak the same language: The GS1 GDSN standard describes the syntax and semantics of the messages with all attributes and code lists. Validation rules ensure data quality before the data is forwarded. Firmly defined processes between the GDSN data pools, their certification as well as the GS1 Global Registry - a central register to record  which articles can be found in what data pool - guarantee the smooth global data exchange. 

High-quality, up-to-date master data is the key to success. GDSN takes the exchange and quality of product master data to a new level.

GS1 Switzerland expands its existing solution portfolio with a product data exchange platform for master data. Here you can find more information 

Advantages of GDSN

Datenaustausch

Every company needs only one interface (web UI, API, m2m, etc.) with a GDSN data pool

Lokal & Global

Access to local and global master data exchange for every company, in every market

Regulator

Avoidance of quality and governance problems due to time-consuming and error-prone manual maintenance and bilateral exchanges

Kosteneinsparungen

Cost savings

To use the possibilities of the GDSN and to exchange data, the following requirements must be met:

  • Licence for a GS1 basis number (GCP = GS1 Company Prefix)
  • Identification of products and addresses with unique identification keys (GTIN, GLN)
  • Classification of products by GS1 Global Product Classification (GPC) 
  • Contract with a GDSN data pool

GDSN: Mit standardisierten Daten zum Erfolg 

Das GS1 Global Data Synchronisation Network (GDSN) ist das weltweit grösste Netzwerk zum Austausch von Produktstammdaten. GDSN ermöglicht es jedem Unternehmen, in jedem Markt, nahtlos qualitativ hochwertige Produktstammdaten auszutauschen. Denn Unternehmen jeder Grösse benötigen das Gleiche: aktuelle und zuverlässige Produktstammdaten, die letztendlich Ihren Kunden und Patienten einen Nutzen bieten. 

Zunehmende Produktvielfalt, Onlinehandel/eCommerce und Regulatorien durch den Gesetzgeber lassen die Anforderungen an das Produktdatenmanagement stetig steigen. Mit GDSN werden qualitativ hochwertige Produktstammdaten automatisch bereitgestellt, validiert und ausgetauscht, um sicherzustellen, dass Handelspartner sofort mit den aktuellsten Informationen versorgt werden, die für den Warenverkehr in lokalen und globalen Märkten erforderlich sind.

Das GDSN verbindet weltweit rund 50 zertifizierte Datenpools mit über 64‘000 teilnehmenden Unternehmen. Insgesamt sind über 37 Millionen GTINs (Global Trade Item Number) registriert. Auf Basis von GS1 Standards werden Produktinformationen (Stammdaten und Digital Asset Informationen wie Bilder, Zertifikate, Konformitätserklärungen, Sicherheitsdatenblätter uvm.) ausgetauscht. Dabei braucht ein Unternehmen die Informationen bei nur einem Datenpool einstellen, um sie in Echtzeit lokal und weltweit allen gewünschten Marktteilnehmern bereitzustellen (Push-Verfahren). Auch Änderungen und Updates werden automatisch synchronisiert. 

Alle Datenpools sprechen die gleiche Sprache: Der GS1 GDSN Standard beschreibt die Syntax und Semantik der Nachrichten mit allen Attributen und Codelisten. Validierungsregeln stellen die Datenqualität sicher, bevor die Daten weitergeleitet werden. Fest definierte Prozesse zwischen den GDSN Datenpools, deren Zertifizierung sowie die GS1 Global Registry – ein zentrales Register, wo verzeichnet ist, bei welchem Datenpool welche Artikel zu finden sind  garantieren den reibungslosen globalen Datenaustausch. Qualitativ hochwertige, aktuelle Stammdaten sind der Schlüssel zum Erfolg. GDSN hebt den Austausch und die Qualität von Produktstammdaten auf ein neues Niveau.

GS1 Switzerland erweitert das bestehende Lösungsportfolio um eine Produkt-datenaustauschplattform für Stammdaten. Hier finden Sie mehr Informationen

Ihr Nutzen auf einen Blick

Datenaustausch

Nur eine Schnittstelle zu einem GDSN Datenpool nötig

Lokal & Global

Zugang zu lokalem und globalem Stammdatenaustausch

Regulator

Vermeidung von Qualitäts- und Governance-Problemen

Kosteneinsparungen

Kosteneinsparungen

Um die Möglichkeiten des GDSN zu nutzen und Daten auszutauschen, sind folgende Voraussetzungen erfüllen: 

  • Lizenz für eine GS1 Basisnummer (GCP = GS1 Company Prefix) 
  • Identifikation von Produkten und Adressen mit eindeutigen Identifikationsschlüssel (GTIN, GLN) 
  • Klassifizierung der Produkte durch GS1 Global Product Classification (GPC) 
  • Vertrag mit einem GDSN Datenpool